top of page

CHARLOTTE DEIGAARD HANSEN

Press the pyt button

Introducing A new English word

Pyt is a Danish word. It has two meanings in Danish. One is translatable. Pyt means puddle.

-But I love the other meaning of the word.

However, there isn´t one word that covers the word pyt in English. Pyt also means never mind, and it doesn't matter all rolled up into one word.

I can give you an example. If someone says:" I´m so sorry I knocked over your glass of water."

And I would reply:" Pyt -don´t worry about it."

I guess you could say that it is an easy going, forgiving word.

Here in Denmark, some people are worried about the strong influence that English has on the Danish language. This is me influencing back. So go for it – use the word pyt. It is such a cool word, and I haven't told the best part yet. In my eight-year old´s classroom, they have a Pyt button. So when one of the children complains about –“he took my pencil” or “she used my hat”. So on a small scale, instead of holding a grudge they push the Pyt button.

Now isn´t that cool!?! Everyone should have a button like that. Just one push on that button and you have moved on.

37 visninger0 kommentarer

Seneste blogindlæg

Se alle

Bitten by a mad Roman

Some years ago I went to Rome and I was just blown away by the tremendous amount of historical buildings there are. Some of these buildings are almost 2000 years old. They will still be standing after we are gone. I felt like being part of history for a brief moment in time.

I decided that I had to write a story that takes place in Ancient Rome. 

Bidt af en gal romer

For nogle år siden var jeg i Rom og jeg var fuldstændig overvældet af alle de historiske bygninger. Nogle af disse bygninger er næsten 2000 år gamle. De vil stadig være her efter vi er væk. Jeg følte det som at være en del af historien for et kort øjeblik i tiden.

Jeg besluttede at jeg blev nødt til at skrive en roman der foregår i antikkens Rom.

CONTACT

Dine detaljer blev succesfuldt sendt!

bottom of page